Free Shipping on orders of $24.95 or more

A gentlemen just asked me a question which he wasn’t sure was etiquette related or rules related.  The question is about playing order.  He wanted to know if it is a rule that the person who won the previous hole goes first, or just etiquette.  This is actually a really good question and there are two basic answers, one for stroke play and one for match play.

Stroke Play

In stroke play it is common courtesy or etiquette for the person who shot the lowest score on the previous hole to go first.  It is not a rule and if it speeds up play for other players to go first, in other words “ready golf,” then do it.  It is also common courtesy for the farthest player from the hole to go first but is also not a rule.  In the interest of pace of play, or perhaps getting a tap-in putt out of the way of a longer putt, the closer player can and should go first.

Match Play

Match play is a different animal than stroke play with regards to playing order.  In match play the person who won the previous hole must go first.  Further, the person farther from the hole must go first.   If another player goes out of order, his opponent(s) may require that his shot be replayed.

Defer?

The gentleman who asked the question also asked if a golfer can “defer” hitting first and make his opponent hit first.  The answer to this question is no.